call for Indigenous artists: REVEAL Indigenous Art Awards

The Foundation will begin accepting applications starting March 1st, 2016.
The deadline for submissions is June 1st.
The Awards are intended to recognize emerging and
established Indigenous artists working in traditional or contemporary
practices. The awards will be given in six artistic categories
including dance, music, theatre, literature, film/video (media arts),
and visual arts/fine craft.

Applications from artists working in multiple art forms will
also be accepted, however, applicants should choose one of the
artistic categories listed above in which to apply.

Artists selected to receive an award may use the proceeds of the award at their own discretion.

Award recipients will be selected by a jury of peers. Awards
will be given at the sole discretion of The Hnatyshyn Foundation. All
decisions are final.

How to Apply

Candidates must submit a complete application online, or in hard copy
via Canada Post or courier service, no later than the deadline. If
sent by post or courier, submissions must be postmarked or time stamped
no later than this date. There are no exceptions. We encourage all
candidates to submit their applications well in advance to avoid any
chance of missing the deadline.


To be eligible to apply, you must

  • Be of Indigenous descent.
    For the purposes of these awards, Indigenous people include First Nations, Inuit and M├ętis people of Canada.
  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada.
  • Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
  • Define and describe yourself as a practising artist.

Other Requirements

The awards are intended for practising artists as performers and
creators. Contemporary and traditional practices are eligible.

Artistic Disciplines
Dance, Music, Theatre
For applicants in dance, music and theatre, the awards are
intended for performance. Oral traditions, storytelling, spoken word,
pow wow and hip hop are included in these categories. Choreographers,
arrangers, composers and directors are not eligible.

The awards in literature are intended for writers in fiction, non-fiction and poetry, as well as playwrights.

Film/Video (Media Arts)
The awards in film and video are intended for creators working in
film and video (analog or digital), including animation, who retain
creative control of their work. Producers and screenwriters are not

Visual Art & Fine Craft
The awards in visual art and fine craft include conventional
visual art practices (painting, drawing, sculpture, photography,
printmaking, mixed media). Installation, performance art and conceptual
art are also eligible.

In fine craft, contemporary and traditional practices are
eligible, including, carving, jewellery making, ceramics, glass work,
bead work, fiber, textile and fashion, and include other
traditional/culture-based materials such as fish scale, caribou hair
tufting, and quillwork.

Submitting Your Application

You can complete and submit your application online starting March 1st. If you are submitting your application in hard copy by Canada Post or courier service, please send all materials in a single package.
Do not send originals. Due to the high volume of requests, application
support materials cannot be returned. Make sure to retain a copy of
any materials you send. Late or incomplete applications and any
supplementary materials arriving after the deadline date will not be

For more details, please consult our frequently asked questions.

You can download a copy of the application form here for reference purposes.

You can apply online starting March 1st.

Results will be communicated in January of 2017.