what’s in the studio these days…

It’s been a while since the wonders of Medalta. And I guess it’s been a while since I posted about what has been going on in the studio. It’s been an adjustment to get back into the pace of daily home life rather than all day/all night studio life, but work has been progressing none the less. I’m trying to finish up the rest of the china painting this week for the show in early October. There’s still so much to do in terms of finishing the pieces so to have the china painting done would be pretty sweet. More on the show later…

Call for Entries – Crsytalline Ceramics

Call for Entry to Crystalline Glaze Artists

A Crystalline Glaze Exhibition
In conjunction with NCECA 2011

Deadline for Entries: December 15, 2010
Exhibition Dates: March 25/May 1, 2011

Submit Digital Images via Email to: [email protected]
Submit PayPal payments to: [email protected]

You may also submit a check payable to FIFCW and send it with your application to the address below:

or send CD with images to:
Frozen in Fire Exhibition
c/o Avi Harriman
1012 W. 8th Ave
Eugene, OR 97402

Number of submissions:
You may submit up to 3 entries at $15 per entry

Digital Image Format Requirements:
• Resolution – 300 DPI
• File Format – JPEG or TIFF
• 1 or 2 views per submission

• December 15, 2010 — Deadline to submit entries.
• January 15, 2011 — Jury process complete.
• January 31, 2011 — Notification process sent out by email.
• February 28, 2011 — Pieces accepted must be received by the Dunedin Fine Art Center.
• March 25 through May 1, 2011 — Exhibition dates.
• March 24, 2011 from 6:00pm to 9pm — Exhibition Opening/Reception
at the Dunedin Fine Art Center, Dunedin, Florida.

Any questions contact:

[email protected]

via Clay Club

BAM Biennial 2010: Clay Throwdown!

August 28th 2010 to January 16th 2011

BAM Biennial 2010: Clay Throwdown!
is the inaugural edition of BAM’s new, juried exhibition competition. With over 30 participating artists, it provides a panoramic survey of ceramic art created in the Pacific Northwest and a glimpse into the many directions in which this dynamic medium is moving.
Clay Throwdown! features a select blend of both emerging and established artists with an emphasis on new and site-specific works. It reflects the diverse responses of contemporary artists to one of the oldest media known to man: clay. From personal gestures to commentary on today’s social issues, Clay Throwdown! assembles a wide range of voices unique to the Pacific Northwest and our time. The competition is accompanied by two distinct awards. The John & Joyce Price Award of Excellence, a $5,000 cash prize plus the opportunity of a future solo exhibition at BAM. The Samuel & Patricia Smith People’s Choice Award comes with a $5,000 cash prize and will be selected by Museum visitors. Be sure to cast your vote when visiting BAM! The winner will be announced at the October 28th Members’ Reception.

Chris Antemann (OR)
Brian Benfer (WA)
Nicholas Bivins (MT)
Frank Boyden (OR)
Nathan Craven (MT)

Daniel Duford (OR)
Sean Erwin (MT)
Robert Fornell (WA)

Carol Gouthro (WA)

Damian Grava (WA)

Heidi Preuss Grew (OR)

Charles Krafft (WA)
Cynthia Lahti (OR)
Kate MacDowell (OR)
Paul Mathieu (BC)
Sequoia Miller (WA)

Saya Moriyasu (WA)
Yuki Nakamura (WA)

Richard Notkin (MT)
Nicholas Nyland (WA)
Arun Sharma (WA)

Ken Shores (OR)
Mike Simi (WA)
Kevin Snipes (MT)

Dirk Staschke (BC)

Brendan Tang (BC)

Timea Tihanyi (WA)

Tip Toland (WA)

Kathy Venter (BC)
Jamie Walker (WA)
Jason Walker (WA)
Patti Warashina (WA)

Gwendolyn Yoppolo (MT)

BAM Biennial is a juried exhibition that occurs every two years starting in 2010. It brings attention and exposure to the work of contemporary artists and craftsmen in the Pacific Northwest. For each edition, the Museum designates a new focus, exploring a specific medium, technique, process or theme in art, craft and design, the Museum’s artistic focal point. More than 170 proposals were submitted to the 2010 edition which is focused on the theme of clay. 34 artists have been selected to participate in the competition. Submissions were reviewed by a select panel of four jurors comprised of: Bif Brigman, collector (Seattle, WA); Stefano Catalani, Director of Curatorial Affairs/Artistic Director, Bellevue Arts Museum (Bellevue, WA); Akio Takamori, artist (Seattle, WA) and Namita Wiggers, Curator, Museum of Contemporary Craft (Portland, OR).For more info please visit their website.